Indian Oil Surjit Hockey from October 23 in Jalandhar .

Jalandhar, Sept. 27 : ( P2P ) :  38th edition of the India’s prestigious IndianOil SERVO Surjit Hockey Tournament will be starting from October 23. 

              According to the Deputy Commissioner, Jalandhar  Ghanshyam Thori, IAS, who is also the President of the Surjit Hockey Society, that the tournament is organized every year by Society to keep the name of Sardar Surjit Singh Randhawa, ex-Olympian alive, who lost his life in a fatal car accident near Jalandhar on January 7th, 1984, while fighting hard for up-liftment of the National Game of Hockey in our Country.  

           Thory further said that the 38th edition of the tournament would be played on league-cum-knockout basis. This year, all the 12 teams have been seeded directly into quarter finals league stage and are divided into 4 Pools with three teams each. The top 4 teams from each pool will qualify for the Semifinals, scheduled to be held on October 30. and no gate entry money will be charged from the spectators who will come to witness the game of hockey.  this year tournament will be played at Army AstroTurf Hockey Ground, Katoch Stadium, Jalandhar Cantonment as the work to replace the old astroturf at Surjit Hockey stadium is being replaced and likely to be completed in month of November, Thory added Thory further informed that as in the past 30 years, this year also, the Asia’s largest and leading Maharatna Oil Company IndianOil Corporation Limited will be the main sponsor of the tournament.

According to Sports Minister, Punjab Olympian Pargat Singh who is also working president of the society that the winner team will get cash prize of Rs. 5.00 lakhs sponsored by the renowned sports promoter & NRI Amolak Singh Gakhal, CMD of Gakhal Group of USA whereas the runners up team will be pocketed Rs. 2.50 lakhs which is sponsored by Sant Baba Tarlok Singh Satsang Ghar, Kahna Dhesian (Jalandhar). As in the past, the best player of the tournament will get Mohinder Singh Tut Memorial Award along with a cash prize of Rs. 25,000. This prize is Sponsored by Ranbir Singh Rana Tut.

Iqbal Singh Sandhu who is General Secretary of the Society informed that Last champion Punjab & Sind Bank, Delhi and Runners up team IndianOil, Mumbai along with 10 other top teams of the country will take part in these 9 days hockey banana. The other teams like Air India Mumbai, Indian Army, Delhi, Indian Navy Mumbai, Indian Railways, Indian Air Force Delhi, CRPF, Delhi, Punjab Police, Punjab National bank, Delhi, BSF Jalandhar and RCF, Kapurthala which will take part to exhibit their skills. 

Chief Minister Punjab  Charanjit Singh Channi, would give away the prizes to the finalist and  Olympian Pargat Singh, Minister for Sports will preside over the function whereas  Sujoy Choudhary, Executive Director, IOCL will be the Guest of Honour during the final day of the tournament on October 31.  Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa, Deputy Chief Minister, Punjab would also be the Chief Guest on the semi-finals on October 30.