As Congress abstains, SAD is undecided in today’s Chandigarh mayoral contest

As Congress abstains, SAD is undecided in today's Chandigarh mayoral contest
As Congress abstains, SAD is undecided in today's Chandigarh mayoral contest

There is expected to be a close contest between the BJP and AAP as the MC House elects a new Mayor, Senior Deputy Mayor, and Deputy Mayor on Tuesday.

As the Congress abstains from the elections, the BJP will have the edge, having an extra vote from MP Kirron Kher, the ex officio member, while AAP hopes for cross-voting from the ruling party’s councillors.

Six Congress councillors stayed away from voting last year as well. SAD, which has not shown its cards, is also expected to abstain. Hardeep Singh, its lone councillor, walked out of the House last year.

In terms of MP votes, BJP has an advantage over AAP, with 14 votes each. Cross votes and invalid votes, if any, will play a significant role. Both units seemed confident of winning.

According to Arun Sood of the BJP, “We are the single largest party in the MC House.” We will surely win.”

Saurabh Joshi, a BJP councillor who did not leave his station with other councillors, posted on Facebook that he was down with a fever and could not take calls. According to Sood, he will vote, clearing up speculation about him not voting.

Today, AAP leaders, who claimed they would win and expected BJP and Congress councillors to vote for them for “development”, were silent.

Prem Garg and Pardeep Chhabra, AAP’s UT chief and co-incharge, did not return calls seeking comment.

BJP’s Sarbjit Kaur defeated AAP’s Anju Katyal last year after one vote was declared invalid. In the House, the AAP raised allegations of fraud, causing a ruckus.

In the House, the BJP, MPs, and AAP each had 14 votes. Gurcharanjit Singh joined the BJP in the middle of last year, increasing the BJP’s one vote.

As one vote from the AAP went to Sharma, BJP’s Dalip Sharma defeated AAP’s Prem Lata for the position of Senior Deputy Mayor. Through a draw of lots, BJP’s Anup Gupta and AAP’s Ram Chander Yadav were declared Deputy Mayors.

Marshals and police personnel will be deployed during the polls in anticipation of a ruckus in the House. There will be increased security both outside and inside the House.